Farewell Old Friends by Bleach

Number 26 on the countdown of Top 40 Albums is Farewell Old Friends by Bleach.  This is an interesting post for me to write because this is probably the most subjective album I have on my list.  If you’ve read my posts leading up to this point, you know that I always provide objective and concrete musical evidence for an album’s phonic “prowess,” but Farewell Old Friends is a bit of a different story.  I desperately try to avoid saying this, because it honestly doesn’t make much logical sense, but they just have one of those great sounds.  It is quite difficult to define.  They are not a band that contains a significant amount of musical talent and their songs don’t necessarily break the mold, but… there is just something about this collection of songs that is quite special.  It’s lyrical and musical rawness catch my ear each time I listen to it.  This record almost puts me into a trance: allowing me to focus only on the music and strip away everything that is happening around me.

Well, since I am doing such an inarticulate job of describing the beauty and purity of this record, allow me to offer some excerpts.  I will include tracks seven and eight, “Sufficient” and “Weight of it All.”  “Sufficient” is one of the most sincere and beautiful songs ever written.  I considered it to be my favorite song for many years.  Its length is perfect.  It stands head and shoulders above the trend of modern worship music where a bridge and chorus are consistently repeated for 10 minutes.  In stark opposition, we hear a sincere, and at times improvisational worship experience as the listener is able to throw away surrounding problems and proclaim, “Hallelujah, You are sufficient!”  “Weight of it All” is a slightly 60s-esque and very heartfelt song.  These two songs may not give the best picture of the record, as some of the songs in the first half are much more up-beat and heavier rock ‘n’ roll songs whose lyrics explore the intensity of relationship conflicts, but this is what I have chosen to give you!

There you have it!  Farewell Old Friends by Bleach is number 26 on my countdown of Top 40 albums!  In case you are just joining the countdown and would care to check out some of my other posts, here are the links!

27. Marvin’s Marvelous Mechanical Museum by Tally Hall

28. New Way To Be Human by Switchfoot

29. Sheer Heart Attack by Queen

30. Feats, Don’t Fail Me Now by Little Feat

31. Who Killed…… The Zutons? by The Zutons

32. The 2nd Law by Muse

33. Eat a Pickle by O’2L

34. Magical Mystery Tour by The Beatles

35. Chase the Sun by The O.C. Supertones

36. Goldie’s Last Day by PFR

37. Hi-Fi Revival by The O.C. Supertones

38. Sound of Melodies by Leeland

39. Oh Tall Tree in the Ear by Roman Candle

40. Kaleidoscope Heart by Sara Bareilles

Tune in next week for number 25 on the countdown!  It is from an artist we have seen before on the countdown, so get ready to get psyched once again!  Have a great week!

10 thoughts on “Farewell Old Friends by Bleach

Leave a Reply

