Sheer Heart Attack by Queen

Number 29 on my countdown of Top 40 albums is Sheer Heart Attack by Queen.  This album’s success lies in its diversity.  The videos above exemplify Queen’s incredible range: from the heart-wrenchingly beautiful to the wonderfully ridiculous.  Queen fires on all cylinders on this gem of a record.

Sheer Heart Attack is the album where Queen first saw significant commercial success in the wildly popular single “Killer Queen.”  No doubt the originality in sound, especially that of Brian May’s guitar, captured audiences attention in addition to the absurdly high level of catchy-ness that song possesses.  However, don’t let the rest of the incredible music on this album slip through your fingers!  This 13 song collection is as genius as it is diverse.

Queen is difficult to categorize in a particular genre (as so much great music tends to be), however one thing is for certain: you never get cheated listening to a Queen song.  It seems to me that their goal with every song was to fit as much musicality and energy possible into each song.  Take, for example, “Bring Back That Leroy Brown” in the video above.  In 2 minutes and 15 seconds, Queen manages to fit in more creativity and ingenuity than most artists can squeeze out of an entire album.  Every song on this album consists of that same high-intensity craftsmanship that Queen is known for.  Even the more relaxed tracks on the record such as “Lily of the Valley” or “She Makes Me” include such wonderful harmonic surprises to go along with their fantastic melodies and trademark background vocals.  Queen never settled, and that is certainly evident on this record.

I leave you with “Now I’m Here.”  This song is track six on Sheer Heart Attack and closed out side one of the original vinyl release.  In my opinion, this song is the epitome of a rock ‘n’ roll song.  Fantastic guitar tone, catchy verse and chorus, and more head-banger-y than should really be legal.  I recommend turning this one up.  Nope, more than that.  A little more.  Yep.  Right there.

Thanks for reading!  If you are interested in checking out other albums included in the countdown, here they are for your convenience!  Look for another post in the next couple of days!  Possibly even tomorrow!

30. Feats, Don’t Fail Me Now by Little Feat

31. Who Killed…… The Zutons? by The Zutons

32. The 2nd Law by Muse

33. Eat a Pickle by O’2L

34. Magical Mystery Tour by The Beatles

35. Chase the Sun by The O.C. Supertones

36. Goldie’s Last Day by PFR

37. Hi-Fi Revival by The O.C. Supertones

38. Sound of Melodies by Leeland

39. Oh Tall Tree in the Ear by Roman Candle

40. Kaleidoscope Heart by Sara Bareilles


13 thoughts on “Sheer Heart Attack by Queen

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s