Some Guitar Solos I Like

Hello everyone!  I think it is only a matter of time on any music blog before the obligatory “favorite guitar solos” post, so I thought I would get mine out of the way.  I’m not going to say that the following guitar solos are my absolute favorites, but they do get me psyched every time I hear them.  They are not necessarily the most flashy or even the most unique solos out there, but I feel that all of these have a special quality which is they fit incredibly well in the song they belong to.  Alright, here are ten guitar solos I love in absolutely no particular order!

1. “Til’ There Was You” as performed by The Beatles.  Solo by guitarist George Harrison at 1:10  

Strange one to start out with, right?!?!?!  I love this solo.  Although I am an avid Beatles fan, Harrison’s guitar work is not always my favorite, but I think his solo on this song is incredibly tasteful and fitting.  It is just a beautiful little jazz solo on an acoustic guitar.  Another thing I love about this solo is it’s brevity.  It is nearly impossible to write a cool, catchy guitar solo in 15 seconds and Harrison did just that in this song.

2. “Maybe I’m Amazed (Live from Back in the U.S.)” by Paul McCartney.  Solo by guitarist Rusty Anderson at 1:05 and 3:10 

OK, I promise they are not all Beatles solos.  Those of you who know me know I adore this song.  This was mine and my lovely wife’s first dance (because my wife is the best wife of all the wives).  This solo is brilliant.  Paul is such a brilliant melody writer and this solo is no exception.  And I chose the Back in the U.S. version because Anderson has a leg up on McCartney in both guitar tone and style.

3. “Walk Away from Love” by PFR.  Solo by guitarist Joel Hanson at 2:10 

Joel Hanson is a seriously underrated songwriter and musician.  This is pretty much just a straight rock n roll solo, but… I don’t know.  There is something I really like about it.  Maybe it is just that I love the song.  Who knows.

4. “I’m Not the King” by Audio Adrenaline.  Solo by guitarist Barry Blair at 2:30 

Barry Blair.  The real Audio Adrenaline guitarist.  Boom.  I said it.  Blair is one of my favorite guitarists and it was very difficult to pick only one solo.  He is the master of writing the solo that fits the song.  I feel this one in particular is the epitome of his ability to do so.

5. “Since I’ve Been Loving You” by Led Zeppelin.  Solo by guitarist Jimmy Page at 3:35 

This one is weird because I don’t even like Jimmy Page.  One could even say Jimmy Page “doesn’t even go here.”  There’s just… There’s something about this one.  Yeah, it is pretty much another blues guitar solo, but the great tone mixed with a few really unique non-blues technical stuff makes this solo special.  And for the record, Joe Bonamassa is my favorite blues guitarist.

6. “Reelin’ in the Years” by Steely Dan.  Solo by guitarist Elliot Randall at 1:55 

You could argue that this entire song is a guitar lead, but I suppose the main solo starts at about 1:55.  And speaking of Jimmy Page, he was quoted as saying that this particular solo was his favorite of all time.  Listening to classic rock radio growing up, I got really burnt out on most of the songs they play over and over again, but not this one.  The guitar work on this song is so great it captures my attention time and time again.

7.”Time” by Pink Floyd.  Solo by guitarist David Gilmour at 3:10 

Yeah, it’s cliche.  I don’t give a crap.  Awesome solo.  Awesome tone.  Awesome song.  Awesome guitarist.

8. “Everlasting God” as performed by Lincoln Brewster.  Solo by guitarist Lincoln Brewster at 2:20 

I don’t particularly love the Lincoln Brewster version of this song because it is the epitome of “contemporary Christian cool rock song,” but, my word, the guy can play guitar.  I also find it hilarious and gratifying that such a great guitar solo gets played on Christian radio with great frequency.

9. “The Dark” by Trans-Siberian Orchestra.  Solo by guitarist Al Pitrelli at 2:45 

I had to have one TSO track in here.  Pitrelli is one of the best, no doubt, and I feel this is one of his best solos with TSO.

10. “Momentum” by Neal Morse.  Solo by guitarist Paul Gilbert at 3:25 

I saved the flashiest one for last!  Neal Morse is such an incredible musician and he is always surrounded by phenomenal talent.  This is one of three studio tracks I can think of that Gilbert plays on with Morse (they also were in a Beatles cover band together called Yellow Matter Custard) and this solo is head and shoulders above the other two.  For those of you who know Gilbert’s work, that is definitely saying something.

So there it is.  My list of guitar solos.  What are some of your favorites?  Leave them in the comments section!  Have an excellent week and enjoy some great music!

6 thoughts on “Some Guitar Solos I Like

  1. Dude!

    I dig your list. Barry Blair. So good.

    Since I’ve Been Loving You. The best.

    I got 3 faves for ya. Check em out!

    1.Shadow On The Sun by: Audioslave.

    2:31 http://youtu.be/dfF4t9-wpCM

    As you know, Tom Morello throws down some nasty solos, but this one sticks out in my mind the most. It is the “bag pipe” solo. It just sounds freaking cool.

    2.Invincible by: Muse

    (Live) 4:36 http://youtu.be/PxXtQmy0RZY

    Same solo in the studio version, but lets be honest – Muse sounds the same live as they do in the studio. Probably even better. Matthew Bellamy is a freak. It blows my mind watching him play this solo. So dirty. So smooth.

    3. Paranoid Android by: Radiohead

    3:03 http://youtu.be/rF8khJ7P4Wg

    The lead guitar throughout the entire song is so sick. The solo is just plain ol’ nasty. Jonny Greenwood is such an innovative guitarist, and this was some pretty crazy stuff for this time period(1997). I think he builds crap and programs his own effects and what not. This easily goes down as one of my top 5 songs of all time.

    Loving your blogs man! Keep em coming!

    -B Mill

    1. Dude! Thanks for the thorough response! Those are some solid ones indeed! I was “this close” to adding one of two Audioslave solos: “Show Me How to Live” at 2:30 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pz-TZPzA0mc or “Like a Stone” at 2:50 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YGfllz_P2_k

      Also, you would appreciate this. I was ridiculously close to putting the solo from “I Trust You” by Skillet at 2:35 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T7j3O82jMo4

      I look forward to your radio show tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

